logo nascimbene award

logo nascimbene award

Edited by the MARIO NASCIMBENE INSTITUTE In collaboration with the Italian Cultural Society. 



Headquarters: areté | business center Contrada Colle S. Giacomo n. 1, 66036 Orsogna (Chieti) - Italy

Tax code and VAT number 07214111002 

Privacy Policy


Giancarlo Giannini will be the President of the fifth edition of the MARIO NASCIMBENE AWARD

12/04/2006 00:00

Press Office


Giancarlo Giannini will be the President of the fifth edition of the MARIO NASCIMBENE AWARD

The fifth edition of the International Film Music Competition kicks off.


Entries open until 3 May
The regulations on www.nascimbeneaward.net

Now in its fifth edition, the MARIO NASCIMBENE AWARD, the International Competition of Music for Film held in Orsogna (Chieti) since 2002, has become a certain point of reference and one of the few opportunities for many composers approaching music for film to showcase their talent.
MusicArte International and the Municipality of Orsogna have announced the new edition of the award dedicated to Mario Nascimbene (Milan 1913 - Rome 2002), the author of over 400 soundtracks for Italian and international cinema and for directors such as Fellini, Rossellini, Antonioni, Vidor, Ustinov, Mankiewicz, De Santis, Zurlini and Lizzani. He was the first Italian composer to work for Hollywood.
The final stage of the competition, whose organisation and artistic direction is entrusted to musician Andrea Mascitti, will take place from 5 to 10 June 2006 at the "Camillo De Nardis" Municipal Theatre in Orsogna (Chieti). The Award Jury will be chaired by actor and director Giancarlo Giannini.
Composers Silvio Feliciani, Riccardo Giagni, Remo Vinciguerra and Caterina Nascimbene, Mario's wife and a member of the David di Donatello Board, will also be part of it.
Composers of all nationalities wishing to take part in the competition must register by 3 May, as indicated in the new regulations available on the website www.nascimbeneaward.net .
The artists will be asked to provide an unpublished musical commentary of some scenes from the film Alexander the Great by Robert Rossen, starring Richard Burton, whose original soundtrack was composed by Nascimbene himself. The commentaries will be examined by a Selection Jury, consisting of Silvio Feliciani (president), Caterina Nascimbene and Remo Vinciguerra. The five best works will be admitted to the final on Saturday 10 June and judged by the Award Jury.
From 9 p.m. onwards, the final event will take place, with the viewing of the first three classified works and the awarding of the winner - whose name will be notified to film production companies - with a scholarship of €2,500.

Create Website with flazio.com | Free and Easy Website Builder